Coblentz Society News & Events

We’ll share links to interesting news stories, announce Coblentz events and more.

Igor Lednev

2024 EAS Award Sponsorship

The Coblentz Society is pleased to announce their sponsorship of the EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Vibrational Spectroscopy honoring Coblentz member Professor Igor Lednev, University of Albany-SUNY.  Learn more. 

Conor Evans

2024 Craver Award Winner

The Society has announced that the 2024 Craver Award winner is Dr. Conor L. Evans. Dr. Evans is associate professor at the Harvard Medical School and leads his lab at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.  Learn more.

Steven Boxer

2024 Lippincott Award Winner

The 2024 Ellis R. Lippincott Award is Steven Boxer, Standford, University, USA. He is recognized for his development of vibrational Stark spectroscopy as a revolutionary tool to understand molecular interactions at the fundamental level, and for its application in enzyme catalysis to answer the century-old question of how enzymes work. Learn more.

Dr. David A. Long

2024 Coblentz Award Winner

The Society has announced that the 2024 Coblentz Award winner is Dr. David A. Long, project leader in the Photonics and Optomechanics group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology .  Learn more.

IR & Raman Courses spectral interpretation, sampling and instrumentation

New Schedule Posted

The 2024 schedule of courses is now online. Learn more. 

70th anniversary Coblentz Society

Coblentz Society Turns 70

In honor of our 70th anniversary year, we will be selling re-branded polo shirts on an individual order basis.  Stay tuned for more information as it becomes available.

Dr. Ishan Barman

2024 Williams-Wright Award Winner

The 2024 Williams-Wright Award was presented to Dr. Jun Zhao at Pittcon on February 28.

Mary Lewis & Barry Lavine

Election News

Welcome to our new Board of managers members Mary Lewis and Barry Lavine!

Alexis Weber

2023 Fateley Award Winner

The Society has announced that the 2023 William G. Fateley Award winner is Alexis Weber, a Ph.D. candidate within the Chemistry Department at the University at Albany, SUNY.  Learn more.

2023 Coblentz Student Award Winners

2023 Coblentz Student Winners

Sevde Erkok, Aleksandr Razumtcev, Daniel Schäfer, Thulay Chakkumpulakkai, and Danuta Liberda are the winners of the 2023 Coblentz Society Student Awards.  Learn more.

Soliciting nominations for 2024 Honorary Membership in the Coblentz Society

Honorary Membership

The Board of Management at its discretion, and by the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the Managers, may elect as Honorary Members of the Society individuals who are deemed to have made outstanding contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy or to any other field related to the purposes of the Society. Send nominations to

Cover of Applied Spectroscopy Practica, Volume 1, Issue 2

Second Issue of Applied Spectroscopy Practica

Stay tuned for Volume 1, Issue 2, of Applied Spectroscopy Practica. Look for information on education and the relationship of the professional societies to instrument development.  Learn more.

Coblentz Society Sponsor Program

Coblentz Society Sponsors

The Society has launched a corporate Sponsor program. If you are interested in gaining the benefits of the sponsorship, please contact for more information.

Coblentz Society T-shirts

Coblentz Society T-shirts!

Show your support for the Coblentz Society with one of our new T-shirts.  If you would like to order one or more, visit the Coblentz Store!