The Craver Award

2014 Award Recipient

Professor Taylor’s research interests center on improving the quality and delivery of drugs and other bioactive substances.  She has used in situ Raman spectroscopy extensively to investigate phase transformations in pharmaceutical materials including probing crystallization, polymorph conversion and anhydrate-to-hydrate transformation, in powders, solutions and suspensions as well as during processing operations. Her research with infrared spectroscopy has focussed on improving solubility enhancing formulations by understanding the role of drug-polymer intermolecular interactions in modifying the crystallization behaviour of amorphous solids. Her recent foray into nanoIR spectroscopy and imaging is providing new insights into microstructure in drug-polymer blends.

Lynne S. Taylor is a Professor of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy and Chemical Engineering (by courtesy) at Purdue University where she was previously Associate (2007-2012) and Assistant Professor (2003-2007).  Prior to moving to academia, she spent several years working at Astra and then AstraZeneca in Sweden developing new drugs. Lynne received a Bachelor of Pharmacy degree with First Class Honors from the University of Bath in the United Kingdom.  Her doctoral thesis work at the University of Bradford, UK, was in the area of Pharmaceutical Technology. In between her degrees, she spent some time working in pharmacy in both the UK and Zimbabwe. After her PhD, Lynne was a postdoctoral researcher with Professor Zografi at the School of Pharmacy, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Research in Lynne’s group is directed toward exploring the science underlying the preformulation, formulation and manufacturing of drugs and other bioactive substances.  Vibrational spectroscopy plays a pivotal role in this research, providing insight into composition, intermolecular interactions and phase transformation kinetics. She has published more than 150 peer reviewed publications.  Research in the Taylor group is currently supported by several federal funding agencies, industry and private foundations. Lynne has received a number of awards including the Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis Outstanding Manuscript award (2007), the Ebert prize for the best manuscript in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (2012) and the Pharmaceutical Research meritorious manuscript award (2012). Lynne is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Molecular Pharmaceutics, and Pharmaceutical Development and Technology and is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Chemistry and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

    The Craver Award will be presented at the 2014 SciX Conference to be held in Reno, NV September 28- October 3 at the Grand Sierra Resort.   Professor Taylor will present the Coblentz Society’s Craver Award Plenary Lecture in Applied Vibrational Spectroscopy and a separate half-day award symposium of five invited presentations will be held following her lecture at this conference.

Recipients of the Craver Award are listed below:

 2014Lynne Taylor
 2013Rohit Bhargava

 2012     Duncan Graham
 2011Michael W. George

 2010Boris Mizaikoff

 2009Takeshi Hasegawa

 2008John Conboy

 2007Katherine A. Bakeev

2015 Call for Nominations
    The Coblentz Society announces its solicitation of nominations for the 2015 Craver Award in recognition of young investigators in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. Nominations for the 2015 award are accepted until August 30, 2014 and must include a detailed description of the nominee's accomplishments, a curriculum vitae or resume, and minimum of three supporting letters. Annual updates of candidate files are encouraged and will be solicited from the nomination source by the award’s committee chair.  Files of candidates will be kept active for 3 years or until the age of eligibility is exceeded. Nominations may be sent to

Award Description
    The Craver Award is presented annually to an outstanding young molecular spectroscopist whose efforts are in the area of applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The candidate must be under the age of 45 on January 1 of the year of the award. The work may include any aspect of infrared (NIR, MIR, or Far), and/or THz, and/or Raman spectroscopy in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The nominees may come from an academic, government lab, or industrial backgrounds.
    In 2006, The Coblentz Society created an award to recognize the efforts of young professional spectroscopists that have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The Society has named this award for Clara D. Craver in recognition of her pioneering efforts in promoting the practice of infrared vibrational spectroscopy and her many years of service to the Coblentz Society. Further, the Craver Award is the Society’s complement of its prestigious 'Coblentz Award' that recognizes young spectroscopists for efforts in fundamental aspects of vibrational spectroscopy.  The first award was presented at FACSS in Memphis in 2007.

    The award comprises an honorarium, an engraved crystal award, and a travel allowance.

Award Symposium

    The awardee will be offered a plenary lecture to the assembled SciX conference. Further, a separate half-day award symposium honoring the award recipient and highlighting the interests of the awardee will also occur at the same conference. At right is an image from the 2010 award presentation (Boris Mizaikoff at left, Ian R. Lewis  (who was then president of the Coblentz Society) at right).


The following is a recording of the 2013 Craver Award Lecture by Rohit Bhargava.  It was recorded at SciX 2013 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with the financial support of Pike Technologies and produced by the Coblentz Society Education Committee. 

Craver award 2103, Rohit Bhargava

The following is a recording of the 2012 Craver Award Lecture by Duncan Graham.  It was recorded at SciX 2012 in Kansas City, Missouri on Tuesday, October 2nd, 2012 and produced by the Coblentz Society Education Committee.

Craver award lecture 2012

Below are images of the inaugural Craver Award presentation in 2007. At left is Katherine A. Bakeev, and at right is Mary W. Carrabba (who was then the President of Coblentz).