2018 Coblentz Award

The Coblentz Society will present the 2018 Coblentz Award to Prof. Hans Jakob Wörner at the International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy (ISMSin June 2018. 

    Prof. Hans Jakob Wörner studied Chemistry at ETH Zürich, where he also completed his Ph.D. in high-resolution molecular spectroscopy in 2007. He then moved to Laboratoire Aimé-Cotton in Orsay, where he completed a short postdoctoral period in theoretical molecular spectroscopy. Prof. Wörner then spent three years as a research associate in the Attosecond Science group at the National Research Council of Canada. In 2010, he was appointed as Assistant Professor in Physical Chemistry at ETH Zürich and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2013.

   The research of Prof.Wörner is dedicated to attosecond time-resolved spectroscopy of molecules. His research group has developed several new techniques for measuring the electronic dynamics of molecules on sub-femtosecond and attosecond time scales. In particular, his group has reported the first measurements of attosecond charge migration in molecules, attosecond photoionization delays in molecules and femtosecond soft-X-ray transient absorption spectroscopy. The group of Prof. Wörner has further realized the first attosecond time-resolved measurements in the liquid phase by coupling an attosecond light source to a liquid microjet.

   Prof. Wörner’s contributions to science have been recognized by many prizes, including the Coblentz Award (2018), an ERC Consolidator Grant (2017), the Carus medal (2016), the Klung-Wilhelmy Science award (2014), the Broida Prize (2013), the Nernst-Haber-Bodenstein prize (2013), an ERC Starting Grant (2012), the Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize (2012), the Göttingen Academy Prize (2012) and the Ruzicka Prize (2012). Prof. Wörner is an elected member of the German Young of Sciences and Humanities (Die Junge Akademie).